Musée Arts et Histoire
     
The first museum created by the painter E.C. Bénézit in 1926 occupied the town council meeting room in the town hall. It was subsequently moved to a 17th century home located in the heart of the medieval village. In1641 this building served as the Community House as well as the boys' school, the courtroom and the prison. In 1985, the town of Bormes named Henri Pescadère, the President of the non-profit group « Sauvegarde du vieux Bormes » as the museum's director. Built using local stones, the building stands out for its impressive ceiling. It houses an admirable collection of paintings and sculptures from the 19th and 20th centuries. Visitors can admire, amongst others, works by H. E. Cross, T. Van Rysselberghe, Jean Peské, Henri Rivière, Carrier-Belleuse, J.C. Cazin,…. Temporary exhibits are also organized: tributes to E. C . Bénézit (2002), Alfred Courmes, « Noël en Provence » , « Bormes d'hier à aujourd'hui »(2003) « les russes de la Favière » (2004), Hommage à Jean Peské (2005)….





Thématiques : Beaux arts /
Actualités
Activités
Animations pédagogiques / Visites guidées /
Activite public familial :
Expositions temporaires de peinture, sculpture, photographie d'avril à octobre et exposition permanente de peinture des 19 et 20ème siècles. Nuit des Musées et Journées du Patrimoine.

Informations pratiques
Adresse :
103, rue Carnot - 83230 - Bormes-les-Mimosas
Tél. : +33494715660
Fax. : +33494715660
Contact :
musee@ville-bormes.fr
http://www.ville-bormes.fr
Accès :   
1

Horaires :
du mardi au dimanche, sauf mercredi matin et dimanche après-midi- d'octobre à mai: de 10h à 12h et de 14h à 17h30 - de juin à septembre: de 10h à 12h et de 15h à 18h30

Tarifs :
  • Gratuit : gratuit pour tout public, toute l'année
Services :
Carte du réseau
Carte archéologique